aMSN Forums
September 20, 2018, 08:16:56 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: New forum for aMSN !!

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to open router ports (to fix webcam issues)  (Read 42909 times)
omnix

View Profile
« on: December 03, 2009, 06:52:31 pm »

hey, when i try to use webcam, my friends say they can only see a white screen,
i tried changing my router number from 6980 to 6900, but it still says i am behind a firewall,
any suggestions what to do?
(i am not very tech savvy, so simple instructions would be appreciated Cheesy)
kakaroto
Administrator
Super Power User

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2009, 07:45:35 pm »

Hi, welcome to the forums..
I can see you're not tech savvy :p
I don't know what you did with "change the router number".. I don't even know what it means..
what you need is simple steps on how to "forward ports to your computer", just open safari/firefox and google for "how to forward ports " and add the model of your router (it should be written under it).
For example, I have a linksys WRT54G router, so I googled "how to forward ports linksys WRT54G" and the first link is : http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Linksys/WRT54G/default.htm
which explains it very well...
when you need to enter your "IP address" open you mac's "system preferences", then go to "Network" under "Internet & Wireless" and select whatever says "Connected" and it should be written under the status the ip address (in my case it's "AirPort is connected to ..... and has the IP address 192.168.1.102"
hope that helps.

KaKaRoTo
drchink

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2010, 03:26:01 am »

ok so im trying to fix my webcam and i get stuck here.

what do i choose there? and am i writting the 6900 in the right spot?

thanks
Anael
Power user

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2010, 03:33:04 am »