aMSN Forums
September 22, 2018, 12:42:56 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: New forum for aMSN !!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Webcam keeps bringing up a black screen in video setup  (Read 18974 times)
Musicfreak6018
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


View Profile
« on: May 19, 2009, 06:49:35 am »

I am having a problem getting my webcam to work with aMSN. My webcam works for every other program I have, but this one. I can receive webcam, but mine won't work. I have looked through others posts and tried everything and nothing seems to work. I am using a Windows Vista. My webcam is built in and its an Acer Crystal Eye Webcam. Basically what happens when I set up video and audio and I click my webcam under devices it just comes up black and you can barely see the name of my webcam. It comes up gray not black and bold like it should. Also when I try sending it to someone it says its connecting but then a gray window comes up. When I go to display image and then to snapshot of cam it comes up correctly. I don't know what to do. I've searched these forums for hours now and still have no solution. I attached a snapshot of what it looks like when I set it up below. Also in order to see the full image you have to click it since its a larger image. Anyways i'd really appreciate if someone could help me with this.
Logged
kakaroto
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9428


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2009, 07:10:39 am »

Hi, welcome to the forums!
humm.. I've heard this before, at least once from someone else.. I don't really know (I am completely clueless) as to why it would work in the display picture snapshot and not in the video assistant... but if i remember correctly, all it does is that it's a black window in the assistant but once you do an actual webcam session with one of your contacts, it will actually work fine... so try that.. and if your contact sees a black/grey/white screen or the webcam gets canceled, then the problem might be the one described here : http://www.amsn-project.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=6412
in which case, ask them to use aMSN instead and see if it helps! Smiley
Logged

KaKaRoTo
Musicfreak6018
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2009, 07:16:38 am »

Well Kakaroto,
I have tried sending webcam and it comes up a gray window everytime. Like I said before I've tried just about everything and don't have a clue how to fix this. the person I am webcamming with is using aMSN as well. I can receive his cam but he can't see mine nor can I see my own. It works with every other program I have too which doesn't make sense. I'm just so confused on what to do.
Logged
kakaroto
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9428


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2009, 06:47:16 pm »

ok, well i'll look into it later on, thanks for reporting the issue.
Logged

KaKaRoTo
kakaroto
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9428


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2009, 01:35:21 am »

http://www.amsn-project.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=6370

Could it be the same issue as here ?
Logged

KaKaRoTo
Musicfreak6018
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2009, 03:50:50 am »

It isn't the same issue as the one mentioned in the link you provided. The issue mentioned in the link provided has a red message saying  "error: no video source initialized." Mine just has a black screen, nothing else. it shows my sources. For example my webcam is an Acer Crystal Eye Webcam and it shows that under the list. I don't know what the problem is. I tried the webcam again recently on aMSN and it still didn't work. I can see others webcams, but mine won't work. it works everywhere else perfectly fine. I honestly don't know what the problem is.
Logged
kakaroto
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9428


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2009, 09:15:55 pm »

I've had the same problem too last week, and i don't know what it was that caused it...  I've tried debugging it without any solution, it seems to work now after I reinstalled windows.. my best bet would be to try to uninstall some of the codec packs you have or the divx/xvid/whatever codecs you might have installer and try again..
Logged

KaKaRoTo
Musicfreak6018
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2009, 06:06:22 pm »

I only have Divx and I tried your solution and my webcam still continues not to work. It is suppose to show up during the audio and video setup right? Well, it isn't showing up there. It shows preview webcam across a black screen but nothing else. I've run out of solutions myself.
Logged
kakaroto
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9428


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: August 26, 2009, 11:15:43 pm »

try reinstalling directX maybe...  it could help!
Logged

KaKaRoTo
Musicfreak6018
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2009, 09:20:53 pm »

directx is divx right? if not, then I don't believe I have directx. I do have divx and I tried reinstalling it, but it didn't fix any problem.
Logged
kakaroto
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9428


View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: August 27, 2009, 09:43:47 pm »

no, divx is a codec for video.. directX is microsoft's equivalent of opengl, it's a  library for 3d processing... and I think directshow is part of it, which is used for video capture/playing...
http://www.microsoft.com/directx
or...
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=2DA43D38-DB71-4C1B-BC6A-9B6652CD92A3&displaylang=en
Logged

KaKaRoTo
Musicfreak6018
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: August 27, 2009, 10:47:03 pm »

I installed DirectX like you said and it still won't show up in the setup and won't work when sending it either.
Logged
zercath
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: October 26, 2009, 03:15:29 pm »

I have the same issue as the others. I have a Logitech Quickcam Pro for Notebooks (see attached lsusb output). My host OS is Fedora 9 with kernel 2.6.25.9-76.fc9.i686 and I'm running VirtualBox 1.6.2. I have a Samsung X11 laptop with Intel Core 2 Duo (2.16 GHz) processor and 2GB of RAM.

The guest OS is Windows XP SP3 and I'm giving it 1GB RAM and 30GB hdd. I've downloaded the current latest Logitech Quickcam for Notebooks drivers (qc1150.exe) from the Logitech website. The drivers installed correctly without any removed by moderator problems, as far as I can tell comparing with the native windows installation. But then, when I tried to use the web cam, the led on the cam goes on and off correctly but there isn't any picture. Looks like the program is controlling the web cam but couldn't get any picture. Sometimes the Logitech program even crashes, but when I start it again (no reboot, no plug out/in of the web cam) it works like before (no crash, but no picture or sound). Sound is not working too.
The host OS (Fedora 9) recognizes the webcam with the uvcvideo driver:
Logged
arantes
Super Power User
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 364



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: October 26, 2009, 08:47:41 pm »

I think you should precise whether the webcam works or not with other programs on the guest windows.
And by the way, i think you have a spyware sending adds for viagra in your messages...

PS : Ah, and, why on earth are you using amsn on the guest windows instead of the native Fedora ? Oo
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!