aMSN Forums
February 22, 2018, 10:07:27 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: New forum for aMSN !!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: i cant log in to amsn  (Read 9770 times)
cynthianeo
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« on: April 25, 2009, 06:50:07 am »

it was working fine for me until 24/04/2009. however i cant log in now. when i click "sign in" it just keeps "logging in" but nvr actually does log in so its stuck at the "logging in " page.

i use a mac leopard 10.5.6

i tried retyping in username and passwrd . doesnt work.
my version of amsn is the latest.
Logged
kakaroto
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9428


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2009, 07:29:40 pm »

Hi, welcome to the forums
Is it possible that it's a temporary server issue ? or that you have a firewall, or parental control enabled on your mac?  these could be the cause...
otherwise, paste here the output of the status and the protocol logs when you try to connect, make sure you clear them before attempting to connect. To open the status and protocol log windows, press in the main  window of amsn the keys Command-S and Command-D (Or control-S and control-D)
Logged

KaKaRoTo
cynthianeo
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2009, 08:34:51 pm »

it use to wrk well for me. hmmm i can log in to msn using my old windows com
i can log in using adium on my mac.
but i prefer using aMSN.

here are the logs:
i cancelled halfway cause it just gets stuck on the logging in pg.

protocol debug
Code:

[03:32:42] ::Proxy::ProxyDirect3
[03:32:42] < Connected to: 64.4.34.146 1863 >
[03:33:17] ->ns-sock12 VER 1 MSNP12 CVR0


[03:33:17] ->ns-sock12 CVR 2 0x0409 winnt 5.1 i386 MSNMSGR 8.0.0812 msmsgs XXXXX@hotmail.com


[03:33:17] ->ns-sock12 USR 3 TWN I XXXXX@hotmail.com


[03:33:21] <-ns-sock12 VER 1 MSNP12
[03:36:29] ->ns-sock12 OUT


status log
Code:

[03:32:42] registering http secure socket
[03:32:42] logging in, destroying loginscreen : loggingIn
[03:32:47] gotNexusReply: error in nexus reply, getting url manually
[03:32:47] gotNexusReply: finished before authentication took place
[03:33:17] cmsn_auth starting, stat=a
[03:33:21] cmsn_auth starting, stat=v
[03:33:21] Logged in with protocol MSNP12
[03:36:29] ::MSN::CloseSB ns Called
[03:36:29] ::MSN::ClearSB ns called
[03:36:29] clearing sb ns. oldstat=d
[03:36:29] Loging out
[03:36:29] logging out, creating loginscreen : loggedOut
[03:36:29] LoadLoginList: starting
[03:36:29] LoadLoginList: getting profiles
[03:36:29] LoadLoginList: HOME=/Users/cynthia/Library/Application Support/amsn/XXXXX_hotmail_com, HOME2=/Users/cynthia/Library/Application Support/amsn, HOMEE=/Users/cynthia/Library/Application Support/amsn
[03:36:29] LoadLoginList: adding profile XXXXX@hotmail.com with lock num 64288
[03:36:29] logging out, creating loginscreen : show_login_screen
[03:36:30] ConfigChange: XXXXX@hotmail.com
[03:36:30] ConfigChange: Valid email
Logged
kakaroto
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9428


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2009, 09:03:00 am »

Hummm that's weird, it looks like the server isn't correctly answering you...  we send three requests to start connecting, it answers once then it stops...
You could try doing this *maybe* it will help :
open amsn's console by pressing Ctrl-Shift-C from the main window (might be Command-Shift-C on mac), you'll get a new window that opens up (amsn's debugging console) and type the following text in it and press enter :
Code:
::config::setKey start_ns_server [::config::getKey default_ns_server]

then try connecting again... this will make amsn connect to another server and request from it the address of another (hopefully working) server.. in other words, it clears amsn's "cache" of the server, which is a feature in aMSN to allow for faster connections.. although i think it might not be such a great idea if MSN servers start failing like that..
Please confirm if it worked!

p.s: I censored your email from the logs!
Logged

KaKaRoTo
cynthianeo
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2009, 10:36:44 am »

ok...
hmmm i tried doing that but its still doesnt work=(((

thx for censoring my email. i was wondering abt that when i posted LOL

i checked the status and protocol logs again and it still looks somewhat the same.. yeap.
Logged
kakaroto
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9428


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2009, 07:50:22 pm »

well then sorry, I don't know... I would suggest you try the SVN version instead in that case, it might work better as it might be a bug we fixed that i can't remember...
also, the SVN version is using the newest protocol version which might work better if the servers aren't working correctly with the old protocol...
more info here : http://amsn-project.net/wiki/SVN
Logged

KaKaRoTo
cynthianeo
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2009, 03:11:23 am »

i think i found out the cause of the prob.
i could connect in sch but i could not connect to amsn at home.
i guess it was trying to the schools server?

er i will try to connect again tonight and see what happens.
Logged
kakaroto
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9428


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 28, 2009, 04:35:20 am »

Oh I see, I guess you should try to see if you can connect directly or use the HTTP gateway.. or if you're at school, maybe you need to be using a proxy.. in which case, you should configure it in the preferences window, in the connection tab.. first try with the HTTP gateway method to see if it fixes it.
Logged

KaKaRoTo
cynthianeo
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: April 28, 2009, 12:33:29 pm »

Thanks you so much!
using the HTTP gateway fixed the problem=)))
=D
Logged
cynthianeo
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: April 28, 2009, 12:51:34 pm »

hmmmm now i seem to have another problem ...
my connection to amsn in sch is very strong however when i connect at home, using the HTTP gateway it disconnects by itself but when i use the direct connection it doesnt connect at all =((
Logged
kakaroto
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9428


View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: April 28, 2009, 09:38:02 pm »

you may have some connection problems at home? make sure your internet doesn't disconnect from time to time... and if you can't connect directly, you may have a firewall blocking you.
Logged

KaKaRoTo
cynthianeo
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: April 29, 2009, 03:27:46 am »

hmmmm i can use internet as normal on my mac laptop and msn on my other computer....
nope i dont have a firewall blocking....

i'll check again and update here.
Logged
cynthianeo
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: May 04, 2009, 04:26:49 pm »

i still cant connect to amsn at home. using http gives a weak connection which disconnects evrytime i talk to someone. frustrated :cry:
b4 i connected in sch i could use it at home using a direct connection
Logged
kakaroto
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9428


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: May 04, 2009, 07:07:25 pm »

You didn't tell us if you tried the SVN version. If not, then I suggest you try it as it may fix your problems...
Logged

KaKaRoTo
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!