aMSN Forums
September 24, 2018, 12:59:40 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: New forum for aMSN !!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Getting amsn development going under Mac OS X  (Read 33958 times)
cii
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 26


View Profile
« on: June 17, 2008, 12:23:04 am »

Ever since I switched to a Mac, this is the problem I've constantly dreaded facing.  Getting a development environment going quickly without too much trouble.  So far, I haven't had many issues.  But I've only tried to install Qt, which was as smooth and easy as any I've ever faced.  I compiled my first test Qt app in under half hour.  I wish i could say the same about me learning to code in Qt at the same speed. But I digress.

I wanted to help with the Cocoa and Qt frontend development.  I sent a PM to profoX and asked how to setup my system so I can be up and running with amsn2.  He was very kind to offer me the following basic steps (adopted to OSX since he uses linux)

1.
cd ~/dev
svn checkout https://amsn.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/amsn/trunk/amsn2 amsn2 (Done)

2. "And install PyQt 4.4.. I have no install instructions for Mac,"  (No matther, this is easy. So: Done)
   Downloaded from : http://www.riverbankcomputing.co.uk/software/pyqt/download
   Also installed SIP-4.7.6 at this stage, not sure if it'll be needed.

3.  "Try running "./amsn2.py -f qt4" from the amsn2 directory. Does that work?"  Unfortunately no Sad
   ImportError: No module named gobject

I've tried so many things to install gobject.  I've fallen into the old dependency hell that (most of the time) no longer exists in linux.  I finally gave up when something asked me to install glib.

So, I turn for help.  How do I get this working? I'm a utter novice when it comes to programming in os x.  So ANY and all help will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks


(Problem seems to be solved.  Keep reading below)
Logged
kakaroto
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9428


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2008, 12:31:46 am »

*for now* pymsn needs glib and python-gobject to work, so you will need to install those, I'm guessing macports or something like that would have it.
once you get that installed, it should work. we'll soon try to remove that dependency from pymsn (the protocol library) so you don't need to install glib in order to get amsn2 working.
Logged

KaKaRoTo
cii
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2008, 12:34:31 am »

Thankyou for such an insanely fast response KKRT.  I guess my quest to install glib continues!  I have macports installed already, going to see if they have it.
Logged
cii
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2008, 01:38:57 am »

UPDATE:
Funny how things just fall into place AFTER you ask for help.  Unfortunately, macports didn't have the two packages. But sometimes we forget that maybe we can install something without all this porting junk.  Here's how to get everything up and running.  Took about an hour for me, given I had to find all the info first.  A simple download and compile shouldn't take more than half an hour.

0. First, follow what profoX said.  Do
svn checkout https://amsn.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/amsn/trunk/amsn2 amsn2
then install pyqt from http://www.riverbankcomputing.co.uk/software/pyqt/download

Then follow these next steps.

1. Install pkg-config from :
http://pkgconfig.freedesktop.org/releases/pkg-config-0.23.tar.gz (http://pkgconfig.freedesktop.org/releases/  Version .23 is the latest)
Untar, do the whole ./configure; make; sudo make install

2. Download gettext-0.17 from :
http://ftp://ftp.gnu.org/pub/gnu/gettext/gettext-0.17.tar.gz (http://ftp://ftp.gnu.org/pub/gnu/gettext/)
Same deal to install

3. Download glib from :
http://ftp://ftp.gtk.org/pub/glib/2.15/glib-2.15.4.tar.bz2 (http://ftp://ftp.gtk.org/pub/glib/)
 Once again, same deal.

4. download pygobject from :
http://ftp.gnome.org/pub/GNOME/sources/pygobject/2.14/pygobject-2.14.2.tar.gz
And one more time, ./configure; make; sudo make install


-----------------------

NOW, if you do : "./amsn2.py -f qt4", it'll work :p

Cheers!  hope it stops some other poor soul from pulling out some of their hair.
Logged
kakaroto
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9428


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2008, 02:12:38 am »

lol, thanks for the info, I'm sure it will help people get started!
Glad it worked for you Smiley
Logged

KaKaRoTo
mOLOk
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 5


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2008, 02:30:04 am »

Actually macports has both py-gobject and glib2 (I'm installing them right now)
Logged
cii
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2008, 02:39:01 am »

eee! you're right!  Sorry for the misinformation.  I guess I did a junky search that didn't turn up anything.
Logged
necroflyer
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 19


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2008, 07:51:59 pm »

Hi everybody Smiley

I can't install PyQT...
I've installed SIP 4.4.7 -> no problem Smiley
Then I tried to install PyQT 4.4.3 and when I do a

python configure.py

He return me this

Determining the layout of your Qt installation...
Error: Make sure you have a working Qt v4 qmake on your PATH or use the -q
argument to explicitly specify a working Qt v4 qmake.

So I tried to install QT and no problem so I retried to install and I've got the same error message...

Any idea?
Logged
Cypher
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 23


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: September 10, 2008, 04:32:43 pm »

Qt4 front-end does not work for the moment anyway... no update for quite a long time.

Anyway, have you tried to use the -q argument with the path to the qmake application ?
Logged
necroflyer
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 19


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2008, 08:22:14 pm »

Yes I do and PyQT is installed.

Now when I type a

Code:
python amsn2.py


I've got this

Code:
python amsn2.py -f qt4
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "amsn2.py", line 76, in <module>
    amsn = aMSNCore(options)
  File "/Users/cosmoboy/amsn2/amsn2/core/amsn.py", line 24, in __init__
    self._gui = gui.GUIManager(self, self._gui_name)
  File "/Users/cosmoboy/amsn2/amsn2/gui/gui.py", line 22, in __init__
    self.gui = self.gui.load()
  File "/Users/cosmoboy/amsn2/amsn2/gui/front_ends/qt4/__init__.py", line 9, in load
    import qt4
  File "/Users/cosmoboy/amsn2/amsn2/gui/front_ends/qt4/qt4.py", line 3, in <module>
    from contact_list import *
  File "/Users/cosmoboy/amsn2/amsn2/gui/front_ends/qt4/contact_list.py", line 8, in <module>
    class aMSNContactList(StyledWidget, base.aMSNContactList):
AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute 'aMSNContactList'



I'm really near. What I have to do please?
Or this without forcing QT4

Code:
python amsn2.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "amsn2.py", line 76, in <module>
    amsn = aMSNCore(options)
  File "/Users/cosmoboy/amsn2/amsn2/core/amsn.py", line 24, in __init__
    self._gui = gui.GUIManager(self, self._gui_name)
  File "/Users/cosmoboy/amsn2/amsn2/gui/gui.py", line 22, in __init__
    self.gui = self.gui.load()
  File "/Users/cosmoboy/amsn2/amsn2/gui/front_ends/cocoa/__init__.py", line 9, in load
    import cocoa
  File "/Users/cosmoboy/amsn2/amsn2/gui/front_ends/cocoa/cocoa.py", line 5, in <module>
    from contact_list import *
  File "/Users/cosmoboy/amsn2/amsn2/gui/front_ends/cocoa/contact_list.py", line 47, in <module>
    class aMSNContactList(base.aMSNContactList):
AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute 'aMSNContactList'
Logged
billiob
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1352


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: September 10, 2008, 10:37:21 pm »

The qt front-end, like the gtk one are not up to date, that's why they don't work.
I'd be pleased to commit your patches Smiley
Logged
necroflyer
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 19


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: September 10, 2008, 10:53:57 pm »

So wait and see?
Logged
nicolunacba
Super Power User
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 349


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: September 14, 2009, 01:37:05 pm »

Hello, I decide to try aMSN 2 in Mac. In Linux It works perfect, in Mac I get this error:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/Users/macbook/Downloads/drf-amsn2-bf7ac8e08cc6610e9ff4473d2c7575b9416948a5/amsn2/gui/front_ends/web/main.py", line 41, in __on_show
    self._amsn_core.mainWindowShown()
  File "/Users/macbook/Downloads/drf-amsn2-bf7ac8e08cc6610e9ff4473d2c7575b9416948a5/amsn2/core/amsn.py", line 136, in mainWindowShown
    login.setAccounts(self._account_manager.getAvailableAccountViews())
AttributeError: 'aMSNLoginWindow' object has no attribute 'setAccounts'

In frontend Cocoa, I only get a small window without widgets inside. What happens?
Logged

I am a Mac user, but I use it like a Unix system ... Terminal.app for life!
kakaroto
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9428


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: September 15, 2009, 12:54:11 am »

the cocoa front end hasn't been updated for a while, if you can patch it up for us, we'd be happy, otherwise, sorry, it won't work right now.. use the gtk or qt frontends for now!
Logged

KaKaRoTo
nicolunacba
Super Power User
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 349


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: September 19, 2009, 04:25:21 pm »

A little question, do you know if EFL is available for Mac OS X? It must be interesting running aMSN2 with EFL (it's pretty nice and fast, I used Enlightenment Desktop in Linux).
Logged

I am a Mac user, but I use it like a Unix system ... Terminal.app for life!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!