aMSN Forums
January 25, 2021, 07:18:44 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: New forum for aMSN !!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Still can't get the iSight webcam to work  (Read 8152 times)
petz_e
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


View Profile
« on: November 15, 2007, 09:50:10 pm »

Hello,

I'm using a MacBook Pro with in-build iSight webcam on Leopard. My problem is that other people cannot see my webcam. They only see the loading screen and after a minute or so, they get the message that I have canceled the connection, which I haven't. During this time I can see my own webcam image perfectly. Is this the reported "white screen iSight problem"?

If so, I haven't found a solution in the forum for this problem and I do NOT get the router message...

/Patrick
Logged
vivia
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2464


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2007, 10:02:05 pm »

The solution is on http://forums.cocoaforge.com/viewforum.php?f=14 titled "How to configure a router"
Logged
petz_e
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2007, 10:46:19 pm »

Thank you vivia for your reply.

I followed the instructions on the thread but I'm not sure if I configured the router correctly because I have a different situation.

I have 2 computers:
A) Desktop computer: PowerPC Quad
B) Notebook: MacBook Pro

The notebook is attached via LAN to the desktop. The desktop has Internet sharing enabled. That's how the notebook and aMSN connect to the Internet.

On the desktop computer the network pannel tells me that my IP address is: 192.168.1.33 and the router is 192.168.1.1
On the notebook the network pannel tells me that my IP address is: 192.168.3.9 and the router is 192.168.3.1

I'm not sure how the router configuration should look like in this situation?

/Patrick
Logged
kakaroto
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9425


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2007, 10:59:34 pm »

Hi,
ask the question in the mac forums instead, they'll know better.
http://forums.cocoaforge.com/viewforum.php?f=14
Logged

KaKaRoTo
petz_e
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2007, 11:39:11 pm »

OK, no problem

/Patrick
Logged
petz_e
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2007, 12:25:31 pm »

I configured the router and disabled the firewall but still the webcam doesn't work. Do I need to change something in the aMSN Preferences?

/Patrick
Logged
newflesh
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 36


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 25, 2007, 03:27:14 pm »

http://forums.cocoaforge.com/viewtopic.php?t=15561&start=20

Download this :
http://rutherglen.ics.mq.edu.au/~steffen/tcltk/TclTkAquaStandalone-8.4.16.dmg

"Inside there's an application called "Wish" or something. I right clicked on it and went to "Show Package Contents." A little folder should pop up. Navigate to the "framework" folder and in there you should see two folders.

Now goto the aMSN application and right click on that and also do "Show Package Contents" and go to the framework folder in there. Replace the contents of the framework folder from the Wish application to the aMSN application. "

that's the only solution for the moment.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!