aMSN Forums
July 11, 2020, 09:54:28 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: New forum for aMSN !!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: SVN version and Tcl/Tk 8.5 bug  (Read 25205 times)
ToKy
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 29



View Profile
« on: May 24, 2007, 11:25:47 am »

hello I did an upgrade of amsn svn and today it just does not open anymore
this is the outcome(other user of svn on ubuntu reported same problem)
Code:
Error in startup script: extra characters after close-brace
    while executing
"set command [list  $self  {*}$Snit_optionInfo(configure-$option)  $option]
            "
    (procedure "snit::RT.CacheConfigureCommand" line 36)
    invoked from within
"snit::RT.CacheConfigureCommand  $type $selfns $win $self $option"
    (procedure "::snit::RT.method.configurelist" line 7)
    invoked from within
"::snit::RT.method.configurelist $type $selfns $win $self $args"
    (procedure "::snit::RT.method.configure" line 4)
    invoked from within
"$self configure -width $arrow1width"
    (procedure "::pixmapscrollbar::Snit_constructor" line 154)
    invoked from within
"::pixmapscrollbar::Snit_constructor ::pixmapscrollbar ::pixmapscrollbar::Snit_inst1 .plugins_log.ys .plugins_log.ys -command {.plugins_log.info yview}"
    ("eval" body line 1)
    invoked from within
"eval [linsert $arglist 0  ${type}::Snit_constructor $type $selfns $instance $instance]"
    (procedure "RT.ConstructInstance" line 9)
    invoked from within
"RT.ConstructInstance $type $selfns $name $args"
    (procedure "::snit::RT.widget.typemethod.create" line 53)
    invoked from within
"scrollbar $window.ys -command "$window.info yview""
    (procedure "::pluginslog::draw" line 12)
    invoked from within
"::pluginslog::draw"
    invoked from within
"if { $initialize_amsn == 1 } {
     ::pluginslog::draw
}"
    (file "pluginslog.tcl" line 210)
    invoked from within
"source pluginslog.tcl"
    ("uplevel" body line 27)
    invoked from within
"uplevel \#0 {

        # amsncore.tcl is already loaded but we'll re-source it here in case we manually do reload_files
        source amsncore.tcl
        source audio.tc..."
    (procedure "reload_files" line 2)
    invoked from within
"reload_files"
    (file "/usr/local/bin/amsn" line 250)
Logged
kakaroto
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9425


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2007, 03:56:37 pm »

already reported, and if you search the forums, you'll find your answers. You need to use the latest version of tcl/tk 8.5. Or use tcl/tk 8.4.
We do not provide support for Tcl/Tk 8.5, it is NOT YET RELEASED, so it is still unstable. This bug was caused by the fact that tcl/tk changed the syntax of the language between a5 and a6 (I think) and this caused aMSN to bug, so we had to fix snit ourselves, which makes it bug for people using earlier version of tcl/tk 8.5 (before they changed the language syntax). We chose to make it compatible only with the latest version of tcl/tk 8.5 because any previous version has a bug that causes aMSN to have a huge memory leak  caused by Tk itself. So everyone should either use a stable version, or use the latest version or stop complaining about alpha stage software (8.5 versions)
Logged

KaKaRoTo
Phil
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 653


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2007, 05:33:36 pm »

To be more precise, they put both ways in a6 and in CVS they remove the old way...
Logged

Phil

AMsn is great, and it will be greater :wink:
xoan
Power user
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 99



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2007, 06:06:23 pm »

I have Tcl/Tk 8.5a7 (updated ~one hour ago) and aMSN r8758 on Ubuntu 6.10 and I not have any problem.
Logged
Phil
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 653


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2007, 06:45:32 pm »

You shouldn't speak about a7 because there won't exists that will be b1
The best is to say CVS Wink
Logged

Phil

AMsn is great, and it will be greater :wink:
xoan
Power user
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 99



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2007, 07:11:49 pm »

Well, then I say CVS Wink

But in my tclConfig.sh/tkConfig.sh there is:

Code:
# Tcl's version number.
TCL_VERSION='8.5'
TCL_MAJOR_VERSION='8'
TCL_MINOR_VERSION='5'
TCL_PATCH_LEVEL='a7'

# Tk's version number.
TK_VERSION='8.5'
TK_MAJOR_VERSION='8'
TK_MINOR_VERSION='5'
TK_PATCH_LEVEL='a7'

I have the tight knowledge to checkout, compile, and install (no more and no less Cheesy). Versions, releases candidates, voersions of versions, alphas, betas... uffff (I'm lost, but I know only one thing, amsn from SVN works with Tcl/Tk from CVS Cheesy)
Logged
ToKy
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 29



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2007, 07:29:44 pm »

so updated to latest tcl tk and amsn svn is working but seams that it can't find tile, I compiled tile-0.7.8  again but still no success to load it on amsn start up, I tried with a simpol ./configure and also ././configure --with-tcl=/usr/local/lib --with-tk=/usr/local/lib but no success, so chameleon not working, any suggestion
it gives an error invalid comand name
 .main_menu

Logged
WM-666
Super Power User
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 292



View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2007, 09:13:07 pm »

wow... updating aMSN was a big mistake it seems now...

I do not want to go 'back' (as in tcl/tk8.4, without AA), and 8.5aX seems to have problems.
8.5a6 gives me TLS-problems (as described in the forum).
Guess I'll be using Pidgin until I can try the 8.5a7-release (which seems to work).

(edit: ik know this is svn, and under developement, AND it is the tcl/tk fault. Not a fault for aMSN! But still, as an end-user I am f*cked)
Logged

Win7 x64, currently no Ubuntu (will install 10.04)
ToKy
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 29



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2007, 11:38:13 pm »

amsn svn works with latest tcl tk, just it does not find tile,(at list for me in feisty) don't know why, anyway the rc1 works great with older tcltk 8.5 (tile as well)
just wonder how to solve the tile problem, to get back to svn
Logged
kakaroto
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9425


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: May 25, 2007, 03:30:43 am »

chameleon doesn't work with tcl/tk 8.5a3 and earlier, read the chameleon thread for more info.
Logged

KaKaRoTo
ToKy
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 29



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: May 25, 2007, 08:09:05 am »

yes I knew it, in fact  I run it with the tcltk 8.5a5 and the regular svn, up untill two days ago, now with the same tcl tk I can use rc1 and still be able to compile and use tile and therefore chameleon. but with the latest tcltk "8.5a7" I can compile the svn but get that error (see screenshhot) and can't make amsn find the tile(it also complains in start up that tile is not found) amsn start up regularly, but there is no possibility for chameleon to function.
so my question is if there is a way to make amsn find the tile in the latest svn version, with the 8.5a7.
otherwise I stay with the rc1 and the a5 meantime since it works great (and it find the tile).
Ciao
Logged
kakaroto
Administrator
Super Power User
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9425


View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: May 25, 2007, 07:53:23 pm »

Toky, I TOLD YOU READ THE DAMN THREAD ABOUT CHAMELEON : NOOO THERE IS NO WAY FOR IT TO WORK!
Logged

KaKaRoTo
jokker
Power user
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 55


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: November 21, 2007, 07:21:51 pm »

Since I used this procedure to have a nice amsn interface http://www.amsn-project.net/wiki/Enabling_antialiasing Amsn is now extremely slow ... animated smileys are almost not animated (meaning very very slow) and there is a 2 to 3 seconds delay between what I type and what appears on the damn screen  :?
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!