aMSN Forums
July 15, 2018, 07:54:18 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: New forum for aMSN !!

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Complete Newbie tutorial on making TLS work in amsn 0.95  (Read 77052 times)
sammie_114

View Profile
« on: May 28, 2006, 08:27:44 pm »

ok i no u guys have answered these questions before but im still lost..sry..ok i really don't understand linux but i got it about a year ago and for that time now i've been using a very old version of amsn so when the new version came out i figured i would give it a try and so i downloaded it now that i have it everytime i try to sign on it tells me i need something called TLS ? i tried cicking on all the little "systems" but none of them work so i tried to download thetls 1.50 version from the website only when i try to download it i don't know how to get it on my computer?? im so lost with linux..can nebody help..please Huh
kakaroto
Administrator
Super Power User

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2006, 11:36:07 pm »

Hi,
indeed, it was already answered many times. Now tell me, what linux distribution are you using ? and to get tls installed, I guess you downloaded a .tar.gz binary package, extract it to /usr/lib/tls1.50, make sure you have the files :
/usr/lib/tls1.50/tls.tcl
/usr/lib/tls1.50/pkgIndex.tcl
and either
/usr/lib/tls1.50/libtls1.50.so
or
/usr/lib/libtls1.50.so

if you have debian, try simply typing 'apt-get install tcltls'

if you want the simplest solution, then open the file /usr/share/amsn/autoupdate.tcl with your favorite text editor, search for the word "osdn'
you will find a line similar to this one :
Code:
    set baseurl "http://osdn.dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/amsn/tls1.4.1"

change the 'osdn' into switch and you'll get a line like this :
Code:
    set baseurl "http://switch.dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/amsn/tls1.4.1"