aMSN Forums

aMSN Support => General => Topic started by: w0lverine on August 12, 2007, 09:35:49 pm



Title: Webcam issue
Post by: w0lverine on August 12, 2007, 09:35:49 pm
Hello,

I'm using 0.97RC1 of aMSN on Windows XP SP2. Few days ago, my webcam was working perfectly, online. Then, i activated the router function of my modem and i got a white screen as a webcam picture sent to my contacts. I routed ports 6891 to 6900 in both TCP and UDP and the "You are behind a router !" message went out. But i still have the white screen when i send my cam to my contacts... The cam is working perfectly on Windows Live Messenger, though - but i heard that a library that runs webcam was included in WLM's programming language (C# ?) and not TCL.

Any idea ?

Thanks in advance.


Title: Webcam issue
Post by: kakaroto on August 13, 2007, 12:53:01 am
that's a common bug that was happening (up until now!!!!) only to Mac users. Since the release of 0.95, we tried everythin and we never found out what could cause this issue! Someone reported last week that he fixed it by fixing his router's configuration. But others report that it's not working by fixing the router's config..
maybe you can help ?
check the mac thread about it : http://forums.cocoaforge.com/viewtopic.php?t=10827&start=60


Title: Webcam issue
Post by: w0lverine on August 13, 2007, 06:09:51 pm
My router belongs to my ISP (freebox from Free, french ISP), thus i can't update it manually. It should be interesting to see whether other french users with the same ISP and router activated can see anything else than a white screen. Shall I try in this forum french section ?

Is there any soft able to confirm that my 6891-6900 ports are successfully routed in both TCP and UDP ? (Although it says "Ok" in aMSN)


Title: Webcam issue
Post by: kakaroto on August 13, 2007, 06:54:54 pm
if amsn says ok, then it's ok.. I don't know about udp, we only test tcp (and only use tcp).
maybe the configuration has overlapping ranges ?


Title: Webcam issue
Post by: w0lverine on August 21, 2007, 05:06:20 pm
Hi,

I tried opening ports in TCP only and disabling DHCP (never know), but still, i got grey screen...
What do you mean by "overlapping" ?


Another thing (but i don't think it's linked to webcam). When i open the Audio/Video Configuration window, it finds my cam, my speakers, but give me this error when it comes to the microphone :
 
Quote
bad window path name ".assistant1.bodyf.contentf.right.testf.stoptest"
    while executing
"bind $w.testf.stoptest <ButtonPress-1> """
    (procedure "::AVAssistant::endPlayTest" line 3)
    invoked from within
"::AVAssistant::endPlayTest .assistant1.bodyf.contentf.right"
    ("after" script)


May be off-topic, if so, i'm sorry.


Title: Webcam issue
Post by: w0lverine on August 22, 2007, 04:55:25 pm
The webcam is working !
I really don't know what i've changed :s

Thanks anyway


Title: Webcam issue
Post by: barfly1959 on August 27, 2007, 04:23:13 am
I can see my web cam image and the other persons webcam image but no audio. What am I doing wrong? :(


Title: Webcam issue
Post by: square87 on August 27, 2007, 08:19:57 am
Hi barfly1959
Before to ask search in the forum!
Audio conversation isn't supported yet. you can only send/receive voiceclips.
When will audio conversation be implemented? After version 0.97
Bye


Title: Webcam issue
Post by: Aydanstuart on September 11, 2007, 06:58:31 pm
Ok ,I have, on my router (Netgear DG834G) I have opened ports on my router, 6890 - 6900 but for some reason my aMSN still says im behind a router. Is this why my Webcam is white and plain, and  does anyone know how to make it so aMSN says its ok? :?:


Title: Webcam issue
Post by: vivia on September 12, 2007, 11:01:18 am
Maybe there are overlapping port ranges with a port forwarding to another machine? Are you sure the ports are opened properly?


Title: Webcam issue
Post by: Aydanstuart on September 12, 2007, 03:32:45 pm
They are the only Ports i have manually opened, and if there are more, i have no idea on how to delete them!! Im on a Mac and My router connects me wirelessly, along with a windows XP laptop. On my router they are manually opened. :S


Title: WHITE SCREEN (OF COURSE!!!)
Post by: valken on February 12, 2008, 09:56:36 am
I use asmn for 2 years.
And like every new version, the webcam works one week...
Now the msn users look a white screen on my webam.
I tired... and hungry, why the cam doesn't work Properly everytime in two years!!!
I have used amsn 0.95, 0.96 RC, 0.96, 0.97RC, 0.97... each time, the webcam works few days or on 10% of msn user's.
And YES, I have open ALL PORTS (1 to over 10 000!) of my routeur (NETGEAR).
When somebody do something?
What can I do!!!!!!!!!!!!

"Aydanstuart! I think you can do nothing like me"


Title: Webcam issue
Post by: clookie on February 12, 2008, 02:01:28 pm
same thing here
since last week
each time I start a webcam conversation all it does is give a white screen
don't know why
didn't change anything

but I noticed if you click "pauze" (||)
and then play again, then you do get the image...
it's weird
so actually it does work but I have to pauze it and play the webcam again (or whatever I should call that)

edit: btw: 0.97 final (so not the svn version)


Title: Webcam issue
Post by: H@t Trick on February 12, 2008, 08:29:49 pm
I was getting this too until recently. It worked fine in 0.96, 0.97RC1 and in SVN. Then I think I hit a few revisions in the 9200-9400 range and they had this issue. Mind you I updated about a week ago and had not for 3 weeks before that but at least 1 month went by with this issue. r9550 works fine for me but I have not tested it extensively on all 4 profiles (including 1 MSNP15 profile). Also I am on a 3 months old install of XP SP2 fully patched system.


Title: Webcam issue
Post by: kakaroto on February 12, 2008, 08:57:49 pm
huh? the white screen problem only happens with mac users, and that's caused by the mac's firewall!


Title: Re: Webcam issue
Post by: H@t Trick on February 12, 2008, 09:35:45 pm
Quote from: "kakaroto"
huh? the white screen problem only happens with mac users, and that's caused by the mac's firewall!

well it seems there are Windows users with this issue also...possibly a very different cause?

Quote from: "w0lverine"
Hello,

I'm using 0.97RC1 of aMSN on Windows XP SP2. Few days ago, my webcam was working perfectly, online. Then, i activated the router function of my modem and i got a white screen as a webcam picture sent to my contacts. I routed ports 6891 to 6900 in both TCP and UDP and the "You are behind a router !" message went out. But i still have the white screen when i send my cam to my contacts... The cam is working perfectly on Windows Live Messenger, though - but i heard that a library that runs webcam was included in WLM's programming language (C# ?) and not TCL.

Any idea ?

Thanks in advance.


I know this was dated Aug 07 but others have reported thsi recently also and I had it for a few SVN revisions until I updated to r9550 last week. I made no port forwarding or triggering changes recently other than for an ftp server I installed last week and for vnc 2 months ago.


Title: Re: Webcam issue
Post by: clookie on February 12, 2008, 10:29:13 pm
Quote from: "H@t Trick"
Quote from: "kakaroto"
huh? the white screen problem only happens with mac users, and that's caused by the mac's firewall!

well it seems there are Windows users with this issue also...possibly a very different cause?


wel I did, I thought I had to tell you guys that it happened on my vista too lately, not that it's that a big deal for me because of this:
although I am able to have a cam session if I pause it and then recontinue it, so it's only a white screen when I start a new session, maybe not exactly the same...


Title: Webcam issue
Post by: H@t Trick on February 19, 2008, 09:18:42 am
Well it seems whatever was causing this for me is gone since updating to 9555 or 9565 (my last two revisions, not sure which one fixed it, I think 9555 was the fix for me).


Title: Re: Webcam issue
Post by: munizbc on January 17, 2010, 01:38:20 am

Hi

Im using Snow Leopard (10.6 - not the 10.6.2), firewall disabled in Mac OS, amsn 0.98.1, dlink dir-300 latest firmware (UPNP capable). I used to have cam problems (white screen, connection timeout etc.) with aMsn, Mercury, Yahoo Messenger. It only worked in Skype.

But maybe it was related to port forwarding, since I enabled DMZ on router dlink and everything worked as expected. AMSN is working nicely, though it is only a temporary solution. I guess windows install some client services to do these NAT things when the two parties are both behind router/firewall.

Best Regards



Quote from: kakaroto
huh? the white screen problem only happens with mac users, and that's caused by the mac's firewall!
well it seems there are Windows users with this issue also...possibly a very different cause?

Quote from: w0lverine
Hello,

I'm using 0.97RC1 of aMSN on Windows XP SP2. Few days ago, my webcam was working perfectly, online. Then, i activated the router function of my modem and i got a white screen as a webcam picture sent to my contacts. I routed ports 6891 to 6900 in both TCP and UDP and the "You are behind a router !" message went out. But i still have the white screen when i send my cam to my contacts... The cam is working perfectly on Windows Live Messenger, though - but i heard that a library that runs webcam was included in WLM's programming language (C# ?) and not TCL.

Any idea ?

Thanks in advance.

I know this was dated Aug 07 but others have reported thsi recently also and I had it for a few SVN revisions until I updated to r9550 last week. I made no port forwarding or triggering changes recently other than for an ftp server I installed last week and for vnc 2 months ago.


Title: Re: Webcam issue
Post by: arantes on January 17, 2010, 05:35:36 pm
Hello and welcome to the forums,
About uPnP, amsn doesn't do it. Why don't you just forward the ports ?