aMSN Forums
February 19, 2018, 04:56:14 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: New forum for aMSN !!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Long during and faiing connection with network freeze.  (Read 6249 times)
jdla
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« on: January 27, 2010, 05:59:46 pm »

Dear all,

I'm a long time happy user of amsn , mostly under Linux.

Since a few (2 ?) days , I have a very weird problem with amsn under Linux.
I'm using Ubuntu 9.10, with amsn 0.98.1 that goes with it.

For a number of accounts (some seem to show greater sensitivity to the problems than others) the sign-in procedure starts and seems to last forever. In fact it lasts forever Smiley
What is even more strange, the login procedure triggers a complete lock-up of my router (linksys WRT54GS) to the extent that my whole local network is blocked until I reset the router. Sometimes the login procedure ends with 'server error', but that can be secondary to a then blocked network.

No problems with any other application, including live-messenger or amsn under windows, as far as I can check.

It smells like severe protocol issues, but I just don't know.

Before diving further, I wanted to check if this problem is somehow recognized ?
Is there any helpful information I can provide ?

Best regards,

Jos

Logged
alexandernst
Developers
Super Power User
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 886



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2010, 07:22:02 pm »

Hi and welcome to forums!
0.98.1 should work without errors, but some users are having problems with amsn.
I really thing that those login problems aren't caused by amsn, but to be sure, post us your status and protocol log (search on forums how to get them and where to copy them).
About the router thing... It really imposible that amsn could "freeze" your entire LAN. It's just not posible :/  and I'm pretty sure that there is some explanation.

Waiting for your logs Wink
Logged
jdla
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2010, 07:37:27 pm »


I'm feeling a bit stupid, but I seem not to be able finding how to get the status and protocol log.
I was browsing through lots of entries and even used the search function , but I simply don't find Sad

And  yes it *does* freeze my LAN. Repeatable. I suspect some 'packet storm' initiated, but the logs will show ...

Could you point me to the procedure obtaining the logs ?

I'm really sorry ...

Jos
Logged
jdla
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2010, 08:23:08 pm »


OK,

I found now how to produce status logs and protocol logs. Exactly when my whole LAN gets frozen.
Are there specific things I should look after ?
(I can't share as they seem to contain tons of private info).

Jos

Logged
alexandernst
Developers
Super Power User
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 886



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2010, 05:35:07 pm »

Glad you found them Smiley
You can replace private data with 'xxxxx' and then post the logs, or, if you're really paranoid, you can PM them to me so we can have a look at them.
Logged
jdla
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2010, 07:55:22 pm »

Some update !

As the problem existed only since 2 days, I went into detail what changed on my machine.
One of the things I added is VmWare.
I removed VmWare (unused !) and the problem is gone.
So it is at least a combined problem with the Virtual Network of VmWare (but triggered by amsn).

I think that the logs I have are from several sessions and they need quite some cleanup of private data.
If you still believe it would be useful investigating, let me know.

Jos
Logged
alexandernst
Developers
Super Power User
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 886



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2010, 08:16:52 pm »

It could be that amsn tried using VMWare's virtual connection?
Yes please, could you give us the logs (clean them first)  (use search&replace). I'll try to talk with kkrt about this problem, and maybe add it on wiki/TODO
Logged
jdla
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2010, 08:55:39 am »

PM'ed the logs.
Just let me know if there's any conclusion.
As said : without VmWare being installed, I have no problem.

Jos
Logged
alexandernst
Developers
Super Power User
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 886



View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2010, 03:14:21 pm »

Thanks for the logs. I'll look at them tonight and talk with kkrt.
Logged
Fenix-TX
Super Power User
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 660


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2010, 12:59:10 pm »

I have the same behaviour here, i don't have vmware but virtualbox. It's strange, when i open amsn, then my router does not respond and i have to reset it.
Logged
alexandernst
Developers
Super Power User
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 886



View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: January 31, 2010, 02:41:39 pm »

Ok, I'm adding this on the wiki... it must be some weird problem with the virtual connection that the virtual machine adds. (virtualbox/vmware/virtual pc/whatever)
Logged
Fenix-TX
Super Power User
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 660


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: March 04, 2010, 02:16:22 pm »

I have the same behaviour here, i don't have vmware but virtualbox. It's strange, when i open amsn, then my router does not respond and i have to reset it.

Well it seems solved doing the following steps:
1. On a terminal, ping to my router
2. Then open amsn
3. When logged, close ping

At least, i'm doing this on during all week and it's working.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!